Locking layers

Jump to Mobile or Windows 10


When you lock layers, it ensures that nothing is accidentally altered. Locking a layer can also be used to indicate completion. When changes need to be made to a locked layer, unlock it and rework things. When finished, you can lock it again. When saving as a TIFF or PSD, your locked layers will be saved.

Layer locks

Layer locking in Sketchbook Pro

In each layer, there is a lock. Tapping it will lock and unlock SOMETHING; however, pay special attention to the body of the lock to know what you’ve locked or unlocked.

Layer in Sketchbook for mobile showing an unlocked layer

  • If the body of the lock is checked Layer transparency locked in Sketchbook Pro, it is locking layer transparency.
  • If the body of the lock is a solid color Layer locked in Sketchbook Pro, it is locking the layer.
  • If the body of the lock is half solid and half checked Layer and layer transparency locked in Sketchbook Pro, it is locking both the layer and its transparency.

Pay attention to any warning that appear. They will explain what is locked and needs to be unlocked to do certain actions.

Locking layers in Sketchbook Pro for desktop

How to lock layers in Sketchbook Pro

  1. To lock a layer, in the Layer Editor, select a layer.
  2. Tap Lock layer.

Unlocking layers

  1. Once a layer is locked, to unlock it, in the Layer Editor, select the layer.
  2. Tap Lock layer.

Locking layers in Sketchbook for mobile devices

For tablet and handheld device users, to lock a layer, tap a selected layer or double-tap an unselected layer to open the Layer Menu. Tap Lock Layer. Do the same to unlock it.

Lock Layer option in the Layer Menu of the mobile version of Sketchbook

Locking layers in Sketchbook for Windows 10

Radial menu

To lock a layer, in the Layer Editor, select the layer.

In the select a layer, tap-hold Radial icon, then swipe and select Lock layer.